WESTPORT BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES

Board Members Present: Administrators Present:

MIchael Gordon Chair Colleen Palmer Superintendent of Schools

Jeannie Smith Vice Chair Elio Longo Dir. of School Business Operations

Elaine Whitney Secretary Julie Droller Dir. of Elementary Education
Karen Kleine John Bayers Dir. of Human Resources
Mark Mathias Michael Rizzo Director of Pupil Services

Vik Muktavaram Candice Savin

PUBLIC SESSION/PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: 7:08 p.m., Staples High School, Cafeteria (Room 301)

RECOGNITION/RECEPTION: 2018 Westport Teacher of the Year

2018 Teacher of the Year: Courtney Ruggiero. 2018 Nominees: Peter Alfano, Allison Beggs, Heidi Howden, Tanya Kaplan, Leonard Klein, Eric Lawrence, LInda McClary, Nicole Moeller, Cecilie Schachte, Emily Soler, and Lisa Weand.

ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM BOARD AND ADMINISTRATION

PUBLIC QUESTIONS/COMMENTS ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS

MINUTES AND AGENDA:

Elaine Whitney moved to approve the minutes of August 28, 2017; seconded by Michael Gordon and passed unanimously.

Candice Savin moved to add a discussion/action item to the agenda on ZREC; seconded by Michael Gordon and passed unanimously.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

ZREC Application for Solar Installation (SHS) & Solar PV Request for Proposal (RFP) a future system at Bedford Middle School

Be It Resolved, That upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, the Board of Education approves that the Green Task Force submits on behalf of the Board of Education an application to Eversource for a ZREC grant.

Be It Further Resolved, That upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, the Board of Education authorizes the inclusion in the upcoming solar PV Request for Proposal (RFP) a future system at Bedford Middle School of roughly 500kW.

MOTION: Candice Savin SECOND: Mark Mathias

RESULT: Passed Unanimously

VOTE: 7-0

UPDATES:

Innovation Fund

DISCUSSION:

Health and Medical Insurance Revenue and Expenses FY17 End of Year Report

Health and Medical Insurance Revenue and Expenses FY18 as of July 31, 2017

ADJOURNMENT: Michael Gordon moved to adjourn at 8:54 p.m; seconded by Jeannie Smith and passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Elaine Whitney, Secretary (Minutes written by Lisa Marriott)