Meeting: September 21, 2018 Staples High School Cafeteria

WESTPORT BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES Special Meeting

Board Members Present: Administrators Present:

Mark Mathias* Chair	Colleen Palmer Superintendent of Schools
Jeannie Smith Vice Chair	Anthony Buono Asst. Superintendent of Teaching and Learning
Elaine Whitney* Secretary	Tina Mannarino AsstSuperintendent Pupil Personnel Services
Karen Kleine	Elio Longo Chief Financial Officer
Vik Muktavaram	John Bayers Director of Human Resources
Candice Savin*	
Neil Phillips*	

*Note: Mark Mathias and Neil Phillips participated by phone for the full meeting. Elaine Whitney participated by phone until 5:48 p.m. and in person thereafter. Candice Savin participated by phone until 6:12 p.m.

PUBLIC SESSION/PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: 5:01 p.m., Staples High School, Cafeteria B (Room 301)

DISCUSSION/ACTION

Discussion and Possible Vote on Superintendent's Recommendation for Coleytown Middle School operations during pending additional environmental testing

Be It Resolved, That upon the recommendation of the Superintendent of Schools, the Board of Education approves the relocation of Coleytown Middle School operations during pending additional environmental testing in accordance with the plan discussed at the meeting of September 21, 2018, whereby 6th and 7th grade CMS students will receive instruction at Bedford Middle School, and 8th grade CMS students will receive instruction at Staples High School.

Be It Further Resolved, That in approximately four weeks the Board of Education will receive from the Superintendent of Schools a formal review and update on all testing results and recommendations for next steps.

Motion: Elaine Whitney Second: Jeannie Smith Result: Passed Unanimously Vote: 6-0 (Candice Savin not present for the vote*)

*Note: Immediately prior to departing the meeting at 6:12 p.m. due to a prior commitment, Candice Savin stated her support for the motion under consideration.

ADJOURNMENT: Jeannie Smith moved to adjourn at 6:43 p.m.; seconded by Karen Kleine and passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Elaine Whitney, Secretary (Minutes written by Lisa Marriott)