Meeting: July 5, 2019

WESTPORT BOARD OF EDUCATION

Board Members Present: Administrators Present:

Mark Mathias* Chair David Abbey Interim Superintendent

Jeannie Smith Vice Chair Tina Mannarino* Asst. Superintendent, Pupil Personnel Services

Elaine Whitney** Secretary Elio Longo Chief Financial Officer

Karen Kleine* John Bayers Director of Human Resources

Vik Muktavaram Candice Savin* Neil Phillips

PUBLIC CALL TO ORDER: 9:02 a.m., Westport Town Hall Room 307

MINUTES: June 20, 2019

Deferred by consensus to a future meeting.

DISCUSSION/ACTION:

Statement from the Board Regarding Use of the CMS Building

Be it resolved, that the Board of Education affirms that the Westport Public School system needs a total of eight school buildings to continue to deliver excellent educational programming to both its current population of students and also to the population of students the Board anticipates over the forseeable future.

Be it further resolved, that the Board of Education affirms that both CMS and BMS will be used to deliver middle school education to middle school students.

Be it further resolved, that the Board of Education supports the renovation plan proposed by the CMS Building Committee on June 20, 2019 as the best available use of Town funds to provide the educational facilities needed to educate Westport students most effectively. As such, the Board of Education requests that the Board of Finance and the Representative Town Meeting appropriate the funding necessary to expeditiously execute the renovation plan proposed by the CMS Building Committee, including the \$1.3 million allocated for the projects that were specifically requested by the Board of Education to fulfill its educational specifications for the project.

^{*}Participated by conference call.

^{**}Participated by conference call until 10:00 a.m.

Motion: Jeannie Smith Second: Neil Phillips

Result: Passed Unanimously

Vote: 6-0-1 (Vik Muktavaram abstaining)

ADJOURNMENT: Jeannie Smith moved to adjourn at 10:19 a.m.; seconded by Vik Muktavaram and passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Elaine Whitney, Secretary, Board of Education (Minutes written by Lisa Marriott, based on notes taken by Neil Phillips)